Seven Seats of Itoshima

Wood sculptor Yuichi Komoda (moqu c0mo) has carved out a new landmark in Itoshima. Resembling North American totem poles, each pole of locally sourced Japanese cedar is named after one of the seven mountains and peaks in Itoshima, and each is dedicated to a god. Located near the turnoff to Shiraito Falls.

Descriptions of Seven Seats of Itoshima
by wood sculptor Yuuichi Komoda / moqu c0mo

Mt. Iwara
God of water
A mountain with two river sources.

Mt. Raizan
God of thunder
Approximately 100 temples are located on this mountain.

Mt. Hagane
God of “once-in-a-lifetime”
The mountain linking Saga and Itoshima from long ago.

Nijodake Peak
God of souls
Site of Nijo Castle

Medake Peak
God of Families
The mountain of fertility.

Ukidake Peak
God of clouds & winds
According to legend a shipwreck took place on the mountain top.

Mt. Tonbo
God of warding off bad luck
The mountain with the souls of ten monks.

Seven Seats of Itoshima
Address : 561, Shiraito, Itoshima City, Fukuoka [ MAP ]
Published: Oct 27, 2020 / Last Updated: Oct 27, 2020

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.